st1:*{behavior:url(#ieooui) }

/* Style Definitions */
{mso-style-name:"Table Normal";
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
font-family:"Times New Roman";

The National Radio Hall of Fame (NRHOF)
announced the results of its national online balloting process for induction into America’s only National Radio
Hall of Fame.  The public selected:

Ralph Emery

A country music icon, Emery began his career as the late-night disc jockey
on country music’s flagship WSM/Nashville. 
The station reached much of the southern and central U.S. and the show became a
launching pad for promising country artists. 
Emery left his overnight duties to concentrate on television, hosting
the syndicated Pop! Goes the Country and Nashville
on The Nashville
Network.  He also hosted a morning show
for WSM Television and is the author of two best-selling books featuring his
favorite memories from the shows

Terri Hemmert

disc jockey known for her encyclopedic knowledge of music and especially the
Beatles, the civically-active Hemmert made Chicago radio history in 1981 when
she became the first female morning drive personality in Chicago on WXRT-FM.
Currently Terri hosts mid-days on WXRT and produces Breakfast with the Beatles.

Carl Kasell

NPR broadcaster Carl
Kasell has spent over 50 years in radio holding positions such as news
director, morning anchor, and newscaster. Currently he is the official judge
and scorekeeper for NPR's weekly news quiz show, Wait Wait... Don't Tell Me!  Kasell
also provides newscasts at the top of each hour throughout NPR's daily
newsmagazine Morning Edition. Over
the course of his career, he has won several awards for his contributions and
commitment to public radio.

Music and the Spoken Word

program of inspiration and music, featuring The Mormon Tabernacle Choir, Music and the Spoken Word is the
longest-running radio broadcast in America.  The Choir, which first started broadcasting
on July 15, 1929, is made up of 360 volunteer members. 

The National Radio Hall of Fame Steering Committee also selected one posthumous
inductee and one
off air Executive for their major contributions to the
radio industry.  They are: 

Cathy Hughes

An innovative and dynamic pioneer of urban radio and Founder and Chairman
of Radio One, the largest African-American owned radio-television corporations in
the United States.
A respected industry leader, Hughes is known for her determination to succeed,
her programming skills and her business acumen.

Sam Phillips (deceased)
The late radio station owner and record producer and owner of Sun Records
known for discovering Elvis Presley. Phillips ushered in an era of rhythm and
blues and rock and roll music on the radio in the early 1950’s. A former DJ on
WLAY/Muscle Shoals, AL, he used his airwaves to showcase a host of young talent
who would become American music icons, including Johnny Cash, Roy Orbison, Carl
Perkins and Jerry Lee Lewis.

One Radio Networks will produce and distribute the live two-hour induction
broadcast on Saturday November 6,
at 10PM (ET) from The Mayne Stage in Chicago. Promotional support
provided by American Airlines, the official airline of the National Radio Hall
of Fame. 

Ticket pricing for Radio’s Biggest
Night of Year will be announced in a few weeks when tickets go on sale at

Votenet Solutions, Inc., a respected online vote tabulation firm,
supervised and tabulated the 2010 National Radio Hall of Fame ballots. To learn and hear
more about the 2010 inductees as well as past National Radio Hall of Fame
inductees please visit or